Journey to the Abyss

Journey to the Abyss

These fascinating, never-before-published early diaries of Count Harry Kessler—patron, museum director, publisher, cultural critic, soldier, secret agent, and diplomat—present a sweeping panorama of the arts and politics of Belle Époque Europe, a glittering world poised to be changed irrevocably by the Great War. Kessler’s immersion in the new art and literature of Paris, London, and Berlin unfolds in the first part of the diaries. This refined world gives way to vivid descriptions of the horrific fighting on the Eastern and Western fronts of World War I, the intriguing private discussions among the German political and military elite about the progress of the war, as well as Kessler’s account of his role as a diplomat with a secret mission in Switzerland. Profoundly modern and often prescient, Kessler was an erudite cultural impresario and catalyst who as a cofounder of the avant-garde journal Pan met and contributed articles about many of the leading artists and writers of the day. In 1903 he became director of the Grand Ducal Museum of Arts and Crafts in Weimar, determined to make it a center of aesthetic modernism together with his friend the architect Henry van de Velde, whose school of design would eventually become the Bauhaus. When a public scandal forced his resignation in 1906, Kessler turned to other projects, including collaborating with the Austrian writer Hugo von Hofmannsthal and the German composer Richard Strauss on the opera Der Rosenkavalier and the ballet The Legend of Joseph, which was performed in 1914 by the Ballets Russes in London and Paris. In 1913 he founded the Cranach-Presse in Weimar, one of the most important private presses of the twentieth century. The diaries present brilliant, sharply etched, and often richly comical descriptions of his encounters, conversations, and creative collaborations with some of the most celebrated people of his time: Otto von Bismarck, Paul von Hindenburg, Hugo von Hofmannsthal, Richard Strauss, Igor Stravinsky, Sergei Diaghilev, Vaslav Nijinsky, Isadora Duncan, Ruth St. Denis, Sarah Bernhardt, Friedrich Nietzsche, Rainer Marie Rilke, Paul Verlaine, Gordon Craig, George Bernard Shaw, Harley Granville-Barker, Max Klinger, Arnold Böcklin, Max Beckmann, Aristide Maillol, Auguste Rodin, Edgar Degas, Éduard Vuillard, Claude Monet, Edvard Munch, Ida Rubinstein, Gabriele D’Annunzio, Pierre Bonnard, and Walther Rathenau, among others. Remarkably insightful, poignant, and cinematic in their scope, Kessler’s diaries are an invaluable record of one of the most volatile and seminal moments in modern Western history.


Author
Publisher Vintage
Release Date
ISBN 0307701484
Pages 960 pages
Rating 4/5 (80 users)

More Books:

Journey to the Abyss
Language: en
Pages: 960
Authors: Harry Kessler
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2011-11-15 - Publisher: Vintage

These fascinating, never-before-published early diaries of Count Harry Kessler—patron, museum director, publisher, cultural critic, soldier, secret agent, and
Journey Through the Abyss
Language: en
Pages: 152
Authors: Kathryn Anne Cook
Categories: Poetry
Type: BOOK - Published: 2000-12-01 - Publisher: iUniverse

The poetry is edgy with a flair. It touches the core of human emotions. Each poem reflects an aspect of life that many can relate to. Each piece draws you in an
The ROOPA Journey: The Abyss of Political Activism & the Reforms Discovered
Language: en
Pages:
Authors:
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: - Publisher: Lulu.com

The Angel & The Abyss
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: Gunther, J. Daniel
Categories: Body, Mind & Spirit
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-10-01 - Publisher: Nicolas-Hays, Inc.

In this companion to Initiation in the Aeon of the Child, now available in paperback, author J. Daniel Gunther provides detailed and cohesive analysis of the tw
Journeys from the Abyss
Language: en
Pages: 348
Authors: Antony Robin Jeremy Kushner
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017 - Publisher: Oxford University Press

This is the first study to place Jewish refugee movementsfrom Nazism into a wider framework of global forced migration from the latenineteenth through to the tw
Cross-Cultural Assessment of Psychological Trauma and PTSD
Language: en
Pages: 405
Authors: John P. Wilson
Categories: Psychology
Type: BOOK - Published: 2007-07-17 - Publisher: Springer Science & Business Media

This work is a vital set of insights and guidelines that will contribute to more aware and meaningful practice for mental health professionals. Focusing equally
Trauma, Culture, and Metaphor
Language: en
Pages: 232
Authors: John P. Wilson
Categories: Psychology
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-08-15 - Publisher: Routledge

In Trauma, Culture, and Metaphor, John Wilson and Jacob Lindy explore the language of both individual and collective trauma in an era dominated by globalization
Into the Abyss
Language: en
Pages: 322
Authors: Kate R. Gillett
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-11-15 - Publisher: Inland Expressions

The assassination of Abraham Lincoln represents a defining moment in the history of the United States. Coming during the closing days of the Civil War, the form
Romantic Revolutions
Language: en
Pages: 432
Authors: Kenneth R. Johnston
Categories: Literary Criticism
Type: BOOK - Published: 1990 - Publisher: Indiana University Press

Journey to the Heart of the Abyss
Language: en
Pages: 384
Authors: London Shah
Categories: Young Adult Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-11-16 - Publisher: Hachette UK

The sequel to London Shah's thrilling futuristic mystery The Light at the Bottom of the World, perfect for fans of Illuminae and These Broken Stars Leyla McQuee